My life outside the sports bubble

2 Feb

Family hike

Hi, i just wanted to share with all, or the two of you that actually read this blog, my life in the off season.

I am reading this…http://www.simplicityparenting.com/ And, in trying to better my kids lives, i’ve also improved my own.  The past few months i have been concentrating on our house and family since i had taken some time away to race.  I have begun to simplify everything from my sock drawer, to the food we eat.  Toys, well a lot of them had to go.  I just keep stuffing everything into the guest bedroom hoping for a glorious garage sale in the spring!

wish i got to do this more often

All this simplifying has opened more room in our lives for creativity.  The kids have been arts and crafts machines and i have managed to do a painting or two.

A painting for my daughter, Canin. She loves "horseys".



Today is a snow day and my plans of working out at the gym, grocery shopping, and work has gone down the tubes and has been turned over to 5 kids.  Four of them boys!

paper mache project on snow day

This weekend i will do a ride with some girlfriends for 2-3 hours and that will wrap  up a week of training for now.  yup, one ride.

the HBP crew, my best adventure girls!

Now i’m dreaming of chicken coops, espaliering dwarf apple trees, and ordering seeds for the garden.  First seeds go in the ground March 16th, a tradition for me for some reason.

i am hoping that my trees look like this someday

Our backyard garden in it's first season. 2009

Had a meeting this morning and signed my first deal of the season and am proud to say i will be wearing Zeals again this year.

I am planning my SUP season right now and discussing river trips and such.  The sponsorship search is still on for the 2010/11 Cyclocross season and i am excited for whats to come.  I will statigically plan my season around trying to make the Worlds Team, this my #1 goal!

Until then my life as a Mom, Wife, and Hairstylist will keep me plenty busy.

Stay tuned as a Jackson Hole ski trip in February with the HBP girls is sure to make for some great pics!

5 Responses to “My life outside the sports bubble”

  1. Jessica February 2, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Thanks for sharing! I love the space you’re in and getting back to simplicity is always a good thing. So much more time and space to enjoy and appreciate the moment. Love you, girl! You’re on the right path.

    • supwithnicoleduke February 3, 2011 at 12:57 am #

      Thanks Jess, Simplicity is changing our lives and you are right, it gives us more space to appreciate whats right in front of us. Thanks for reading.

      Nicole

  2. Carly February 8, 2011 at 3:58 am #

    What a wonderful site Nicole. How in the world does someone as busy as you juggle one more thing like this? You never cease to amaze me. So looking forward to our adventures in Jackson and to learning some more gardening tips from you. I love you girl!

    • diane clarkson February 24, 2011 at 5:40 am #

      Yes Nicole, you also inspire your Mama and you are everything I ever wanted in a daughter. When I was carrying you in my belly, I thought of how I would like you to look and sure enough you turned out how I imagined you. You’ve far exceeded all my expectations and I’am honored to be your mother. You even inspired me to start NICKY D DESIGNS. Thank you for what you are and for what you will become. Love, Mama

  3. Ronald Clarkson May 10, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    Nicole I didnt know you were such a good artist. Very nice blog. I wish I was closer so I could watch you race. I miss that. Love Ron

Leave a Reply

